About the Board

THCA President

Larkin O’Hern, East Myrtle: Resident in Tobin Hill since 2018. Larkin was first elected to the THCA Board in 2019 and as President of the Board in 2020. He and his wife Rachel bought a home in Tobin Hill in 2017 and (finally) moved in early 2018! After spending eight years in the Army bouncing from place to place, they were ready to put down roots and loved the community feel of Tobin Hill, its proximity to downtown, and mix of historic preservation with exciting potential. When not working, Larkin enjoys strolling along the Museum Reach, biking the Mission Extension and reading whatever book is up next for the THCA Book Club.

THCA’s President is elected on a yearly basis and is allowed to serve up to four (4) consecutive terms.  

THCA Board Members

Malcolm Hartman, Owner – Tycoon Flats (BUSINESS) – Malcolm was elected to the THCA Board in 2018 and re-elected in 2020. He is a 6th Generation Texan and absolutely loves his hometown of San Antonio, Texas. He remembers going to watch George ‘The Iceman’ Gervin and the Spurs play at the old Hemisphere Arena and even remembers taking the monorail from the parking area. Wow, what a throwback… Malcolm received a Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas and has been in the restaurant business all his life. His restaurant inspiration came from his mother, who is a gourmet caterer. Malcolm is married to his wife Amber, who is a mother and former elementary school teacher.

While not a resident of Tobin Hill, he and his brother Richard (also a former Board Member of THCA) own and operate Tycoon Flats restaurant on N. St. Mary’s. “It is such a thrill to see and be a part of the continued growth, history and cultural significance of the Tobin Hill area,” Malcolm says. Malcolm is currently serving as THCA’s Treasurer.

Lynn Knapik, Broker/Owner, Lynn Knapik Real Estate LLC. (BUSINESS) – Lynn was elected to the THCA Board in 2021. Lynn is both a business owner and resident of Tobin Hill, and has lived at the Pearl since 2010. While a previous connection to Pearl that began when her family moved to San Antonio in 1972 for a job at Pearl is what brought her to the neighborhood, she became an active member of the THCA due to the desire to connect with residents in the area. Lynn has served on THCA’s Historic Preservation Committee for a number of years and is happy to do her part to help preserve the character of the neighborhood. From the beginning of moving to the area, Lynn found a passion for community involvement, starting with the Midtown Brackenridge Master Plan Initiative in 2010; on to SA2020, attending all of the community meetings; eventually be invited by Mayor Taylor to serve on the Midtown TIRZ in 2013. She remains today as a TIRZ board member. During Mayor Nirenberg’s recent Mayor’s Housing Task Force, Lynn served on the Neighborhood Working Group.

Until COVID put many activities on hiatus she was also serving on a SAHA “Move to Work” task force and was a Reading Buddy with second graders a Hawthorne Academy for 6 years. Having moved a house from Alamo Heights to Bandera, TX in 2002, taking it down to the studs, adding on to it, restoring every window and door and so much more over two years of hands-on labor, Lynn came to truly appreciate older homes and the craftsmanship that went into building them and properly restoring them. She has participated in the Historic Home Specialist classes provided by OHP at COSA, even consulting on the classes. She also sponsors the OHP annual Historic Homeowners Fair. Lynn is a promoter of historic neighborhoods, SAISD and recently helped the neighbors in the E French Place Historic District and Terry Court and save their pocket park from “going to the dogs!”

Frederica Kushner, East Myrtle: Resident in Tobin Hill. Frederica was elected to the THCA Board in 2018 and re-elected in 2020. Research into the history of her home and others in the neighborhood, as well as reading about the American Arts and Crafts movement has helped inform Frederica’s point of view about historic neighborhoods. She worked for designation of the original Tobin Hill Historic District and, more recently, the East French Historic District. She was a member of the Planning Team which produced the Tobin Hill Neighborhood Plan, adopted by the City in 2008. And, more recently, she was a member of the Historic Preservation and Cultural Heritage Working Group which contributed to the SATomorrow Comprehensive Plan, now being implemented by the City of San Antonio. Additionally, Frederica is a member of the Steering Committee of the Tier 1 Neighborhood Coalition, and a past member of the board of the San Antonio Conservation Society who has chaired both their Historic Building Survey and Historic Gas Station Survey Committees. She is also active in the Tobin Hill Community Association as chair of the Historic Preservation Committee, which functions as an architectural review committee.

Heidi Patterson, Gillespie: Resident in Tobin Hill since 2019. Heidi was elected to the THCA Board in 2020. A self-described Army brat, Heidi grew up in San Antonio after her dad retired here.  She is a registered nurse, and worked in the operating room at Methodist for 15 years.  In 2015 she followed her passion and heart, opening a CrossFit gym, with the perfect location in the heart of Tobin Hill!  One year later she bought and remodeled a triplex on Gillespie street, where she now lives. Heidi is super happy to be a resident in the neighborhood in which she has built her business.  She says, “Tobin Hill has been really good to my husband and I over the years we have been here, and we’d love to give back to community that has given us so much!” Heidi is currently serving as THCA’s Secretary.

Paula Starnes, East Magnolia: Resident of Tobin Hill since 1983. Paula was elected to the THCA Board in 2021. Paula is a native of San Antonio and grew up on the southside. She bought a house on East Magnolia 30 years ago after renting for 8 years in Tobin Hill. She graduated from Texas State University with a BA in management. She currently serves on the board for the Tri Point YMCA and the zoning committee for the Tobin Hill Community Association. She is an active member of the League of Women Voters.

Paula has been active in women’s organizations in San Antonio and at the state level for over 40 years. In addition to being the previous President of the San Antonio NOW (National Organization for Women) chapter and founding member of the Rape Crisis Center, she worked in IT for most of her career and spent the last 15 years working for a local financial real estate firm which buys mortgage notes, makes investor loans and manages real estate.

THCA Board members are elected for two-year terms and are staggered so that half are elected or re-elected in even-numbered years and half are elected or re-elected in odd-numbered years. No member may serve more than four (4) consecutive years on the Board. 

Contact Your THCA Board:

Larkin O’Hern, President
larkin.thca@gmail.com | (931) 980-4846
Malcolm Hartman, Treasurer, Business Member
Lynn Knapik, Business Member
Frederica Kushner, Resident Member
Heidi Patterson, Secretary, Resident Member
Paula Starnes, Resident Member

Find out more about the Tobin Hill Community Association: read our Neighborhood Plan and Bylaws here.